Facts About Puerto Rico And The US Virgin Islands

Facts about Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands

Story Highlights
Puerto Ricans were officially recognized as citizens of the United States on March 2, 1917, when President Woodrow Wilson signed the Jones-Shafroth Act.
The U.S. Virgin Islands, including the islands of Saint Croix, Saint John, and Saint Thomas, gained citizenship on Feb. 25, 1927.
Residents of these territories can freely travel to the United States.

The post-hurricane recovery that faces Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands has brought attention to the status of the U.S. territories. According to a September poll, only 54 percent of Americans knew that people born in Puerto Rico were U.S. citizens and were …

Read more…

Share This


Disqus ( )
Comodo SSL