Norton, Others Announce President Trump Signs Bill Honoring Frederick Douglass

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Congressman Andy Harris (R-MD), and Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) and Ben Cardin (D-MD) announced that President Trump today signed their Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission Act (H.R. 2989) into law.  The bill establishes a commission to plan, develop and carry out programs and activities to honor and celebrate the life of Frederick Douglass, the country’s greatest slavery abolitionist, during the bicentennial anniversary of his birth, in 2018.  In addition, the commission must make recommendations to Congress by August 1, 2018, on programs and activities that the federal government should carry out to honor Douglass.  …

103 Read more…

Share This


Disqus (0 )
Comodo SSL